“Education is not really about grades…”

“…education is not really about grades or getting a job; it’s primarily about becoming a more aware and engaged observer of the universe. If that ends with college, you’re rather wasting your one and only known chance at consciousness.”

-John Green (2013 Butler University Commencement Address)

I really love this quote. I am a nerdfighter (DFTBA!) so I love most things that come from John and Hank Green… but this quote is by far one of my favorites. I am a firm believer in the value of life-long learning, whether it comes about through college courses, reading, or life experiences. I hope that I never lose my excitement for learning, and that I can continue to improve myself in all areas throughout my lifetime.

That is one of the primary reasons I started this blog. I’m currently searching (and searching and searching) for a teaching job, and I want to keep myself informed and focused on my ultimate goal of becoming a teacher. By reading these books and keeping track of them, I am preparing myself to be a better teacher with a wide range of literature that I can call upon at a moment’s notice. With the limited amount of time teachers have in the school day, it has become really important to be able to combine subjects. This is most easily done by reading books that relate to content areas such as science and social studies.

Even if I wasn’t working towards becoming a teacher, I think I would still be reading a lot of books. I’ve always loved reading, and it is one of the easiest ways to obtain knowledge on a huge variety of subjects. Again, I strive to be a life-long learner, and I believe that through learning and reading we can truly become engaged and useful citizens of the universe we live in.

Leave a Reply

