Books, Books, Books!!

So I went to the library tonight to get some more books to review and I had a little bit of time before church started to do some reading… and it got me thinking…
20130620-003016.jpg I love getting new books! Whether from the library, a book store, or online, a new story is always exciting to me. Working on this blog has really reminded me of just how much I love books. Most of the reading I’ve been doing over the last few years (with the notable exception of my college textbooks) has been online. From FanFiction to e-books almost all of what I’ve read (and I’ve read a lot) has been electronic text. Usually the only physical books I buy (other than textbooks) are ones that I plan to use in my classroom someday, or ones where there is something special about the physical book itself (like when I pre-ordered The Fault in Our Stars because all the pre-orders were signed by John Green).

It’s been really nice to get my hands onto physical books, to experience the differences between reading a book and reading on my computer screen. Not to say that there’s anything wrong with electronic text. I love reading on my Kindle and on my computer… but there’s a completely different experience when you have a real book in your hands. The next book I’ll be reviewing (The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales) is a prime example of this. Every part of that book, from the cover to the title page to the stories is part of an experience that you just can’t fully get from an e-book.

So what am I saying here? I don’t really know… Again, I’m not trying to criticize e-books. I love knowing that when I go on vacation all I need to bring is my Kindle and charger, rather than the one to two bags full of library books (which is what I used to do every year when the family would go on vacation). But sometimes you just need to go to the library… surround yourself with books… and take the time to appreciate the fact that you have a place to go and borrow books from.

So go to your local public library! Pick up a book and read it! Trust me, sometimes a good book is all you need to make the world seem a little brighter.

Leave a Reply

