100 Things You Should Know About Nocturnal Animals

100TYSKANA cover

Written by: Camilla de la Bedoyere

Consultant: Steve Parker

Published in 2008

Genre: Nonfiction

Grade Level: 3-6

Summary: 100 Things You Should Know About Nocturnal Animals is a fascinating book about nocturnal animals and their habits. Each set of facing pages has a theme (such as “Light at night” and “Whoo’s there?”) and three to five facts about the topic. Mini quizzes and activities are also included throughout the book, and beautiful photographs and illustrations complete the package.

Angela’s Thoughts

100TYSKANA read

I am someone who really doesn’t like nonfiction books, but I have to say this book was amazing! It was full of so many interesting facts and beautiful photos that I was completely drawn in.

There were so many great things about this book that it’s impossible to name them all, but I will list a few. First of all, I loved all of the little things added in, from quizzes to activities to unbelievable facts. Ah.. the facts. The book claims to contain exactly 100 facts… but really there are 100 main facts, which are accompanied by lots and lots of extra, yet related, facts. Even so, the book read very easily and I didn’t feel like I had information being shoved down my throat.

Hmmm… what else did I love? The photographs were really beautiful, and were really helpful in understanding just what each fact meant. When there were no photographs available, cute little illustrations filled in the gaps.

Final Thoughts: There is just so much to love about this book. When I started reading I did not have high hopes, but once again, I’m glad to have been proven wrong. This isn’t a book I could use as a read aloud, but it would be really great to have it available to my students.

I give 100 Things You Should Know About Nocturnal Animals five stars!

5star

 

Leave a Reply

