The Twits

TT cover

Written by: Roald Dahl

Illustrated by: Quentin Blake

Published in 1980

Genre: Humor

Grade Level: 3-5

Summary: Mr. and Mrs. Twit are cranky, disgustingly ugly, and all around mean-spirited people. They seem to hate everyone and everything, including each other. They spend their days pranking each other, eating bird pie, and training monkeys… until one day the birds and the monkeys strike back.

Angela’s Thoughts

TT read

I bought this book at a garage sale a couple weeks ago, and I decided to bring it with me on vacation because I saw it was written by Roald Dahl, who wrote my favorite of the poems in Once Upon a Poem. I hadn’t realized he was the one who wrote Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and now I think I’m going to have to go back and read it sometime in the near future.

The Twits was a really enjoyable read. The story was entertaining, and the illustrations fit perfectly into the story. The character development was really interesting as well. I started out feeling sorry for Mrs. Twit, but I soon realized that she was just as bad as her husband.

The one thing that I didn’t like about this book was that the real story doesn’t start until you are half way through the book. It’s even explicitly stated that it’s time to “get ahead with the story.” For me it wasn’t that the beginning of the book was too long, it was that the “story” itself wasn’t long enough. After the long explanations of the Twits’ pranks, the story itself felt rushed.

Final Thoughts: On the whole I really enjoyed this book. I love the writing style, and the illustrations fit really well into the story.

 

I give The Twits four stars.

4star

Leave a Reply

