There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom

TaBitGB cover

Written by: Louis Sachar

Published in 1987

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Grade Level: 4-6

Summary: Bradley is the oldest kid in the fifth grade, and everyone hates him. Jeff is the new kid. Colleen has a crush on Jeff. Carla is the new school counselor, and she’s on a mission to help the students in this school start to believe in themselves.

Angela’s Thoughts

TaBitGB read

Once again I find that I don’t really know how I feel about a book. There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom is weird, but interesting. It’s sad, but funny. It’s incredibly awkward, but that is part of what makes it great.

Bradley is always getting in trouble. He doesn’t do his work, talks back to his teachers, and doesn’t have any friends. I think we can all think of a child who is similar to Bradley. Throughout this book, Carla helps Bradley to become more confident in himself and to realize that he can have friends and do well in school.

For me personally, this wasn’t my favorite book. I don’t think I would have read it as a kid, and I’m not sure if I would have really got it as a kid either. That said, I do think boys would enjoy this book.

Final Thoughts: This book has a great message, but it is somewhat awkward to read. I picked it up because I really loved Sachar’s Wayside School books, and I was a bit disappointed. It wasn’t a book I really enjoyed, but I think there are students who would really love it.

 

I give There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom three stars.

3star

 

 

–  –  –  –  –

 

Intentions are nice things, aren’t they? I said I would have this review up on Friday… and that was my intention…

I could make all the excuses in the world… I was bridesmaid shopping with my best friend, I was sick, the 12th Doctor was being announced… But what it really boils down to is the fact that I just couldn’t get myself into it. I was apparently away from reading and reviewing for too long, because I am really having a tough time getting back in the groove. But I’m trying! 

So is this review as awesome as I planned? Not really, but at least it’s here. Hopefully I can get back into my rhythm again soon, preferably before school starts up again.

Leave a Reply

