Llama Llama Red Pajama

llama llama cover

Written & Illustrated by: Anna Dewdney

Published in 2005

Genre: Picture Book

Grade Level: PreSchool-K

Summary: Llama Llama Red Pajama tells the story of Baby Llama who has just been tucked into bed by Mama Llama. Once Mama goes downstairs Baby Llama starts to panic, crying, screaming, and throwing a tantrum until Mama comes to check on him.

Angela’s Thoughts

I decided to restart my reviewing career (it has been well over a year since I last posted) with Llama Llama Red Pajama for a couple different reasons. First of all (and most practically), I just bought this book in hardcover at a garage sale (brand new!) for $2.00. Second of all, it is geared towards preschool, which is where I’m currently interpreting. Finally, there is an excellent ASL retelling of this story by Keith Wann that I absolutely love!

Now then, on to what I actually thought of this book. I first heard it or read it (I can’t remember) a few years ago and at the time I was not a fan. I’m still not a huge fan of it, but it does appeal more to me now that I’m working in a preschool. The book reflects the fears of little children in the dark and I can definitely see the students in my classroom identifying with Baby Llama’s fears when Mama Llama disappears.

While I’m not the biggest fan of the text, I do love the illustrations. The colors are gorgeous and the pictures really grab at the eye. I also love how Dewdney used different font colors to add emphasis to certain words and phrases. Again, it really catches the eye in a good way.

Final Thoughts: Honestly, it’s a cute book, but I’d rather watch Keith Wann sign it than read it.

I give Llama Llama Red Pajama three stars.

3star

One thought on “Llama Llama Red Pajama

  1. Pingback: Llama Llama Misses Mama | The Fanciful World of Children's Literature

Leave a Reply

